What are Chakras?

The seven chakras are the centers in our bodies in which energy flows through.

The purpose of chakra balancing is to support a balanced flow that will sustain our overall level of energy. In our everyday life, we are subjected to a number of activities, sources of stress and demands that result in fluctuations in our energy level. Some may feel draining, others fulfilling or nourishing. Furthermore, past events and experiences often leave a long lasting influence on how we feel and are in the world, therefore influencing how we manage our energy day-to-day.

Stresses placed on us by the demands of life may result in interruptions and fluctuations in our energy flow and chakra imbalances. A chakra imbalance can affect:

  • How much energy flows through the chakra or chakra system

  • A chakra is deficient when the energy is “blocked” or it is “closed up”

  • A chakra is overactive when the energy flow is excessively increased and not regulated

  • The position of the energetic field associated with one or several chakras is displaced

Blocked energy in our seven chakras can often lead to illness, so it's important to understand what each chakra represents and what we can do to keep this energy flowing freely. Here's our quick summary:

1. Root Chakra — Represents our foundation and feeling of being grounded.

  • Location: Base of spine in tailbone area.

  • Emotional issues: It is related to our basic survival needs (food, water, shelter, air, etc.) and our physical bodies interacting with nature. When this chakra is balanced we feel stable, safe, supported and grounded.

2. Sacral Chakra — Our connection and ability to accept others and new experiences.

  • Location: Lower abdomen, about two inches below the navel and two inches in.

  • Emotional issues: Sense of abundance, well-being, pleasure and sexuality. At this energetic center we experience creativity, sexuality, playfulness, joy, abundance and a connection to desire. Through a strong sense of desire we are able to pursue our passions and go with the ebb and flow of life.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra — Our ability to be confident and in control of our lives.

  • Location: Upper abdomen in the stomach area.

  • Emotional issues: Self-worth, self-confidence and self-esteem. It is the home of our personal power, motivation, will and ability to manifest our deepest desires. It controls our digestion where we transform nourishment into valuable energy for the body.

4. Heart Chakra — Our ability to love.

  • Location: Center of chest just above the heart.

  • Emotional issues: Love, joy and inner peace.It relates to our feelings of love, compassion, forgiveness, connection and understanding. This is where the physical and spiritual chakras intersect. You may think of the arms as a physical expression of the heart chakra where we connect to others through handshakes and warm embraces.

5. Throat Chakra — Our ability to communicate.

  • Location: Throat.

  • Emotional issues: This chakra is the home of our communication and is the place for purification as it also presides over the thyroid, which balances our hormones and keeps our immune system healthy. When this chakra is open we communicate clearly with authenticity and practice intuitive listening.

6. Third Eye Chakra — Our ability to focus on and see the big picture.

  • Location: Forehead between the eyes (also called the Brow Chakra).

  • Emotional issues:  It is associated with your intuition, wisdom, intellect, knowledge, understanding and imagination. An open sixth chakra may experience lucid dreaming or moments of clairvoyance. You feel guided, able to trust in the process of life and believe your presence is an integral part of the fabric of life.

7. Crown Chakra — The highest chakra represents our ability to be fully connected spiritually.

  • Location: The very top of the head.

  • Emotional issues: Inner and outer beauty, our connection to spirituality and pure bliss. This chakra connects us to a divine source, God or universal consciousness. When this chakra is open we feel the flow of energy fill our body and connect us to all other beings on this planet. At the seed of this chakra we learn that we are pure consciousness, interconnected and essentially all one.

Chakra balancing techniques fall into in three categories: Those centered on a physical process or activity, a meditative or introspective practice, and the transmission of energy from another person or on your own.


  • Hands on healing or energy healing

  • Yoga

  • Meditation, including chakra meditation, self-inquiry

  • Exercises focused on the connection of body and mind, including yoga

  • Breath work, including pranayama

  • Holistic or alternative medicine

There are also a number of practices aiming at restoring the balance of the chakra system as a basis for well-being. The most common ones are:

  • Reiki

  • Craniosacral therapy

  • Pranic healing

The use of chakra healing stones or crystals can also support chakra balancing activities.

peter cauro